You thought you Knew

Imagine the excitement when you get the news you landed the job you’ve been googling for weeks, crafting your resume to fit the job description, nervously drove to the interview and you nailed it. You effin’ got the job that was going to open doors, showcase your smarts, and make yourself a ton of money. — That’s how I felt when I landed my first sales job. I still feel that way except I haven’t showcased my smarts or made myself a ton of money. I am opening one door though, and that’s to the exit. Sales is a monster that I underestimated.

I’ve learned a lot in the last 5 months. And I know that is a small sample size, but I’ve been schooled more than I probably realize.

The P word

In Business to Business sales, large purchases are not made in a day (at least not for me). It’s a continuous process to try and secure a sale. It takes time to build relationships and get a prospect to understand /trust you’re trying to improve their business. Long sales cycles test your patience like you can not believe. I think I can relate it to having a baby… You have this awesome moment ( You got the Intro Meeting!)  and then have to wait 9 months before you see the results (Send over the SOW, Let’s do this!). I’ll come back to that analogy when I actually have kids (or a sale for that matter) and see if I still agree lol. However, my arguement is… Waiting for something has become almost a sin. We’ve become an impatient society, i mean people get pissed if they have to wait in line for any amount of time.

Right before I started writing this post, I watched a man waiting for coffee and as each second passed, he became more agitated. The lady behind the counter asked, “Sir, are you still waiting for your coffee?” And he rolled his eyes and replied, “Yes, i’ve been standing here for over 5 minutes… and I’m waiting for 2 coffees, not just 1”. — In my mind, I thought how long it would of taken him to just make coffee at home… I see scenarios like this all of the time. I WANT IT IMMEDIATELY. Unfortunately, life doesn’t work like that. Or I’d have a billion sales by now… 

TL:DR is for impatient people

There has been many life lessons that I’ve had in the last 25 years that have offered to teach me patience, which i need to be a little more open to learning. But if I’m being honest, I too love instant feedback and results. We have this awesome tool called, Yesware that lets me track each email i’ve sent to see if it was opened. After I send a few dozen emails out, I wait. Patiently… for about 2 minutes before my mind starts internally going bananas because not one of those bastards has opened my email! WTF! And then maybe another 3 minutes goes by and I see a ton of open notifications going off in the bottom right hand corner of my screen and the dopamine floods my nervous system. I’m happy for a few seconds.. all is good. Until I think, WHY HAVEN’T THEY EMAILED ME BACK?! 

I’m realizing this is a roller coaster of emotions that is actually kind of funny. I can’t wait to write part 2 of this post

This was just rambling… if I had the patience to sit and really think, this would be better. Maybe next time. Well played, patience, well played.  

