Hello from the year 2017.

Let’s Recap What Just Happened

First and foremost, I’m going to change my life this year. How do I plan on doing that you ask? Well, I’m going to create a system that will ensure my success. Lets back up though and recap a bit, 2016 wasn’t all bad.

Some big changes happened in my life. The top 3, I quit my family’s business, I moved out of my mom’s house to an apartment in Boston (closer to my girlfriend), and landed my first B2B (Business to Business) sales job. To be honest, these decisions made me feel uneasy. You always read in self-improvement books to step outside of your comfort zone, I freaking took a leap outside that bitch…

I am extremely lucky and fortunate though. I have no debt from college, my car is paid off, my cellphone bill is taken care of, and I live with a college buddy and down the street from my high school friend. I’m sitting pretty at the moment.

Which is why I plan to leave my comfort zone once again.

The New System

Back to the main point of this post, how am I going to change my life. I read a number of books last year and probably should reread a few of them. There was one book that really inspired me to have a system though, which was, How to Fail at Everything and Still Succeed, by Scott Adams the creator of Dilbert. He reiterated the idea that we should have systems in place rather than goals. For example, my goal is to write 5 blog posts a week… sounds good right? Well as we all know or should know by now, shit happens. If I failed at writing 5 blog posts a week, I would give up. So instead, I plan to write something every day even if its just a paragraph written from my phone talking about my bowl of Honey Nut Cheerios.

Communication is a valuable skill that I want to continuously get better at. So in the following months I should start to see incremental improvements. By the end of the year, I should be able to look back and say, damn… I’ve come a long way since then. 

A little side system 

I also want to begin tracking my meals and my energy for a few months. This is another idea from Scott Adams’ book that we should all be conscious of what food we eat and how it affects our energy levels. Especially me with a poor gut to begin with… Health is priority numero uno. My hypothesis is that I’m eating too many starches which is why I crash during lunch time. My eating habits aren’t terrible, but can be altered quite a bit if I’m being honest. Oh well, lets see what happens. 

With that said, I’m done rambling for the moment and should think about going to bed.

Peace out, girl scout